Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Michael Addition and the Synthesis of Aminoglutethimide
Sauron
International Hazard

Mood: metastable

[*] posted on 21-8-2007 at 00:07
Michael Addition and the Synthesis of Aminoglutethimide

I am studying the preparation of the interesting anticancer drug aminoglutethimide for essenatially personal reasons.
Its close chemical relative glutethimide almost killed me when I was 15.

At that time I was a high school student and I had a urinary tract infection. It was being treated with gantrasin, a sulfa. The regime was two pills 500 mg each four times a day, at 8 am, 12 noon, 4 pm and 8 pm.

I went through the first prescription and my dad went to the neighborhood pharmacy K&B now out of business, for a refill. He returned about 7 pm, and so I was ready to take my 8 pm pills after dinner.

I noticed that the refill pills were marked CIBA unlike the first batch but they were same size shape and color and neither I nor anyone else thought anything was amiss. So I took them.

Next morning awoke normally and took two more. Went to school, and at lunch took two more. About an hour later I slid right out of my chair in class.

I was unconscious for three days. The pharmacist had inadvertently swapped my sulfa for Doriden 500 mg, a powerful sedative, normal adult dose 1 per 24 hrs. I had ingested six in about 16 hours.

The generic name for this drug is glutethimide and I am given to understand that it is no longer on the market. (Actually it is on the market but rarely prescribed.)

The compound is 3-phenyl-3-ethylglutarimide and it is made by the Michael addition of 3-bromopropionic acid (or its ester) to a-cyanopropyl benzene. That is just phenylacetonitrile with an ethyl group added at the benzylic position, possibly by another Michael addition.