Sciencemadness Discussion Board

New High School Teacher looking to outfit a classroom

Stifle - 7-12-2008 at 12:10

Hey everyone, first post here.
I am a first year Chemistry teacher at a high school here in the states and I have been tasked with outfitting the chemistry program at our school with the basics for conducting laboratory activities.

A few specifications on the classroom before I ask for some help.
-Each class will not far exceed 20 students
-The classroom does not have natural gas lines installed yet, and probably will not this year

Now, the point is, I would like some pointers from anyone who has taught chemistry to secondary students before, I need to know what general purpose items i should try to get a hold of. i will post a list of what i have so far, if there are any suggestions on top of that list they would be most appreciated.

Cleaning/Maintenance
12-Bottle Brush, 11.5 inches x 1.5 inches
12-Test Tube Brush, 7.25 inches x ½ inch
Glassware Detergent concentrate
8-Wash Bottle, LDPE, 250ml

Glassware
6-Glass Droppers
12-Glass Student Graduated Cylinder, 50ml
12-Glass Student Graduated Cylinder, 10ml
12-Pyrex Beaker, 50ml
12-Pyrex Beaker, 150ml
12-Pyrex Beaker, 400ml

Miscellaneous items
12-Magnetic Stir Bar, Octagon, 1 x 5/16 inch
12-Magnetic Stir Bar, Octagon, 1-1/2 x 5/16 inch
6-Porcelain Mortar/Pestle, 80mm
30-Clear Glass Stir Rod, 6 inch
12-Thermometer, 0-230°F, 12 inch
12-Std. Stem Funnel, 100mm
~150-Disposable Pipets
12-Scoopula, Stainless Steel, 6 inch
12-Beaker Tongs
pH Paper, 1-14 range, 15 ft. roll
Red Litmus Paper
Blue Litmus Paper
4-Digital balances in the $75-100 range - centigram or better sensitivity
1-Digital balance in the $150-$200 range, -milligram or better sensitivity

If possible, what are some online vendors that would have most if not all of these items available? Or should i look for a local supplier? any input would be appreciated

[Edited on 7-12-2008 by Stifle]

Saerynide - 7-12-2008 at 20:22