Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Starting glassware and reagents?

aonomus - 18-10-2009 at 19:52

So first a bit of background on me (first post), I'm a undergrad at the University of Toronto studying chemistry & biology, and I've been working with electronics for some time now, so I already have a little bit of glassware for preparing circuit board etchants, etc.

I've been wanting to do some experiments such as making ferrofluid via different methods, maybe the occasional organic experiments as well (and a home made fume hood would be well in order for that then). Also some preparatory things such as mixing up circuit board etchant, or distilling large amounts of water to wash things, and maybe distilling plant oils (orange oil, lavender, etc) for soaps?

I have a few questions regarding glassware, reagents/chemicals, and most importantly legal implications before I take the plunge and start collecting more equipment/chemicals/apparatus and running experiments.

Glassware
To start off I'm wondering if this list of glassware is a bit much, or ok. Everything is pyrex unless listed otherwise (or its obvious).

General
Beakers: 50mL, 150mL, 400mL, 3x 600mL, 1000mL
Erlenmeyers: 125mL, 250mL, 500mL, 1000mL
Graduated cylinders: 500mL (HDPE), 10mL, 50mL
Filtration: 1L filtration flask, Buchner funnel, stopper. Vacuum aspirator and gauge
Distillation: 1L RBF, 500mL RBF, distillation head, thermometer + adapter, condenser, vacuum adapter
Other: Watchglasses, funnels, stir rods, 250mL sep. funnel

Equipment/apparatus
Heating (gas): bunsen burner, striker, gas regulator, crucible, clay triangle or wire gauze
Handling/prep: crucible/beaker tongs, cork rings (for RBFs), mortar & pestle
Storage: various jugs, bottles, and jars, either as glass or HDPE
Other: homemade stir plate, stir bars, clamps, rings and retort stand(s), soap and brushes, plastic buckets and carboys

General safety: lab coat, gloves, goggles, full face shield, eye wash