Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Ethyl Acetate?

smaerd - 23-1-2010 at 14:19

Totally new here, so if I am doing it wrong let me know! I'm fairly new to chemistry and have a lot to learn. I recently purchased a chromatography column(liquid) and was thinking about doing some practicing with it. For the eluent I plan on using a Ethyl Acetate as part of a binary solvent mixture.

I used the search function perhaps I should have looked further but I got three pages of "diethyls" and plenty of other "acetates" hehe.

Buying ethyl acetate won't have the FDA at my door or anything right? Wouldn't be a big deal but I just don't wanna get arrested for buying chemicals or something stupid.

How do people run columns with this when it costs 5 dollars per 30 mL?

I've looked into 'synthesis' and it seems really easy, however no distillation apparatus is available:(. I was told it is a main constituent in some non-acetone nail-polish removers, but it appears there are many other compounds which could dirty up the whole reason of running a column.

Any ideas on how/where to procure relatively cheap, fairly pure ethyl acetate for the at home experimenter?:cool:

Thanks so much!

[Edited on 23-1-2010 by smaerd]

[Edited on 23-1-2010 by smaerd]

entropy51 - 23-1-2010 at 14:50

The FDA wouldn't care if you filled your swimming pool with EtOAc. I think you have FDA confused with DEA. I doubt DEA would care either. Local cops, well...

You can find a cheaper source than $5 per ounce, for sure. Many threads here have mentioned companies that sell to individuals, at least sometimes. Spend some time looking at old threads.

If you want to make it, you will have to distill. Enter the phrase "preparation of ethyl acetate" in google and lots of preps come up. It is a favorite experiment in college chemistry.

Magpie - 23-1-2010 at 14:55

Quote: Originally posted by smaerd