Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Keeping the vacuum pump clean

Jacob - 18-12-2019 at 11:44

Well, this is rarely if ever discussed.

How do you keep solvents and volatiles away from your vacuum pump?

The oil in my rotary vane pump turns into milk every couple of vacuum distillations.

I have a glass cold trap. Maybe filling it with mineral oil and putting it in ice will work.

12thealchemist - 18-12-2019 at 12:13

Quote: Originally posted by Jacob  
I have a glass cold trap. Maybe filling it with mineral oil and putting it in ice will work.

I have no experience of using a vacuum pump outside of university (where I use them daily - Schlenk line work), so I can't help too much with the hobby side of things.

That being said, a trap is key to protecting the pump and prolonging its life. I don't know how cold one needs to go; I've always used liquid nitrogen, but I hear dry ice/acetone also works. If you can't access dry ice (I can't outside uni), ice and salt will reach -18°C at best, and ice and calcium chloride hexahydrate will reach -40°C at best. I imagine this latter is good enough to catch the vast majority of your volatiles. I don't know how good the other options are.

Jacob - 18-12-2019 at 12:30

Quote: Originally posted by 12thealchemist  
Quote: Originally posted by Jacob  

I have no experience of using a vacuum pump outside of university (where I use them daily - Schlenk line work), so I can't help too much with the hobby side of things.

That being said, a trap is key to protecting the pump and prolonging its life. I don't know how cold one needs to go; I've always used liquid nitrogen, but I hear dry ice/acetone also works. If you can't access dry ice (I can't outside uni), ice and salt will reach -18°C at best, and ice and calcium chloride hexahydrate will reach -40°C at best. I imagine this latter is good enough to catch the vast majority of your volatiles. I don't know how good the other options are.