Sciencemadness Discussion Board

COULD HAVE BEEN BAD--H2SO4 vs. PETE bottles

arkoma - 11-8-2021 at 23:35

Not even thinking about PETE plastic being an ester, like a total noob I put approx 95% sulfuric in a pint plastic vodka bottle.

FORTUNATELY, I DID then put said bottle in a gallon sized ziploc, then set it down in a glass bowl. An hour or two later, the whole bottom of the vodka bottle was GONE due to acid hydrolysis, but the acid was contained by the ziploc.

Could have been a real fuck up boys and girls.

Check those compatibility charts.

j_sum1 - 12-8-2021 at 02:00

I ruined a favourite sports jacket one time at school. There was an unnoticed spill of H2SO4 on the bench and I leaned on it. I noticed some time later when one of my polyester sleeves turned to goo.

Fyndium - 12-8-2021 at 10:33

This is why it is always important to check compatibility. Only exceptions are when a sacrificial part is to be used, for example I use cheap PVC tubing for all kinds of purposes and simply replace it when it corrupts. But for storing anything, at any length basically unless you want to contaminate your product, it must be fully compatible. Good rule of thumb is that HDPE is good for most stuff, except for strong oxidizers like fuming nitric acid, and it also does not like mating with hot stuff. This comes with caveat, because HDPE is routinely adulterated with calcium carbonate filler to cheap it out. This works great for consumer products and also for solvents and other that does not react with it, but one must find out that the plastic is not cut with anything prior to use. I have understood that clearer the PE, the less likely it contains fillers.