Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Any Advice for Drying a Heat Sensitive Sample?

Limulice - 9-3-2022 at 22:51

Hi all,
I am a marine biologist who has been independently researching the properties of horseshoe crab blood from a local population of crabs for about a year now, and for the next stage of my research I had some questions about drying a sample. For context, one of the best ways to test the sensitivity of the immune cells of a horseshoe crab is to produce a reagent called Limulus Amebocyte Lysate, which is commonly used in the biomedical industry for endotoxin test kits. LAL is a heat sensitive reagent that starts to denature at around 36° C. When LAL is produced it is in an aqueous solution of distilled water and a very small amount of 3% NaCl saline water (used for rinsing the amebocyte cells), and while I have produced countless samples of LAL over the last several months, going forward I would like to dry the samples completely and remove all of the moisture from them, leaving behind only the LAL. This is what biomedical companies do to prepare the reagent for storage/shipment, and I want to mess around with drying/re-constituting the LAL to see if it impacts its sensitivity at all.

The most common technique used for this is lyophilization, but as I'm not affiliated with an actual lab I don't really have the budget for a quality lyophilizer. I also don't have much experience with this aspect of chemistry, so I'm unsure of what types of techniques might work to dry the sample. Do you guys have any suggestions for alternatives, or would other drying processes like rotary evaporation require temperatures that are too high for the LAL? Would it be better to try and set up a custom lyophilization system using pressure chambers, a vacuum pump, and a makeshift water trap to dry the sample?

sauveurdumonde - 10-3-2022 at 04:17

Quote: Originally posted by Limulice  
a vacuum pump