Sciencemadness Discussion Board

8-Iodocaffeine synthesis

methylene_beam - 9-1-2012 at 13:39

I would first like to introduce myself to the community. I am a recent college graduate with my degree in chemistry. I have taken a real liking to organic chemistry and that is what I ultimately focused on in college. Now that school is over I have decided to continue on with my interest as a hobby until a start my grad program next fall.
I have decided to experiment with caffeine because it is a cheap bi-cyclic aromatic compound that has shown to have anti-caner properties in areas like the liver. Not only that it is a powerful stimuli of the cAMP messaging system (increased respiration). My procedure is as follows.
I have an excel attached to visually show what I am attempting to do.
Experimental
1.5g of anhydrous caffeine pure Caffeine (ebay vendor), 1.24 equiv KI(1.86g)(ebay vendor), and 30.0ml of MeOH(~99.8) were added to a 250ml RBF with magnetic stirring. Once added, flask contents were heated to 55c until all of the KI had gone into solution. Once into solution a solution of sodium hypochlorite (~6wt%) was added drop wise. There should be a noticed exotherm during the addition. Once addition is complete contents were stirred for 15mins then a small amount of sodium thiosulfate was added to neutralize the remaining iodide. Contents were then added to a sep funnel and extracted 3 times(10,10,5ml) with methylene chloride(product should be much more soluble in ch2cl2). Solvent was pulled off with vac and recrystalized by some method. (Typical work up procedure including drying).
Possible purification: doping a silica column with base then achieving separation knowing the more polar caffeine will interact with the column longer.