Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Somewhat urgent nitric acid distillation issue

inspector071 - 16-6-2012 at 14:27

I recently got a 24/40 distillation set in hopes to distill some nitric acid more efficiently than a retort. I just got my pump in today and got all of my glass set up. This is my first time working with this setup, and I'm getting joint leakage at my heated flask and still head joint, spewing out some NO2 and nitric acid vapors, which started to dissolve my Keck clamp there. I am using some silicone dielectric grease at all of my joints. I've read not to use too much grease, but I may have not used enough. What can I do now to try and salvage this experiment safely?

Edit: I decided to let the apparatus cool down a little, and donning some leather and butyl gloves, I cleaned off the ground glass joint, reapplied more silicone grease and wrapped the outside of the joint in teflon tape before putting on the Keck clip. I"m also resting the bottom of my round bottomed flask on the bottom of the oil bath/hot plate so as to not pull the joint apart at all but to keep pressure on it holding it together.

[Edited on 16-6-2012 by inspector071]

cyanureeves - 16-6-2012 at 15:25

same thing happened to me and i just let it go since i thought the acid wasnt worth saving but boy was i wrong.i did lose a keck clip but the acid was super strong i only gave it a half twist and separated the flask that was catching the acid from the rest of the set up so it would not build pressure.

inspector071 - 16-6-2012 at 15:43

That was exactly my problem. The system was building too much pressure. I did the same thing: loosened my receiving flask and immediately the vapor column rose and started stilling over.

m1tanker78 - 16-6-2012 at 16:28