Sciencemadness Discussion Board

DEA drop kicking doors in!

J1nglz - 29-8-2012 at 05:42

Hi all,

I have been a lurker now on the forums for a year or two now. Love it.

I am an Aerospace Engineer. I just graduated last month with my masters degree in combustion/propulsion. My thesis pertains to chemical mechanisms representing hydrocarbon fuels. Development of a biodiesel rocket propellant is my most recent passion.

I got a well paying job designing racecar engines. With my new influx in cash, came an influx of lab equipment. I have openly bought a number of apparati such as a magnetic stirrer, separatory funnel, beakers, and, to avoid governmental scrutiny, a distillation setup so that I can distill various solvents. Apart from that I have a 1/2 hp water aspirator...etc. I think I have a pretty nice lab set up to start my pursuit of a biorocket fuel.

I also ordered a variety of biofuel related chemicals. Specifically, KOH, NaOH, 35% H2O2, GAA from a very well known biodiesel supplier (Don't want to advertise).

Well, my girlfriend is into the whole holistics thing. She thinks all of my lab stuff is a little excessive. I explain to her the chemistry but all she really gets from it is that biodiesels and soaps are essentially the same thing. I tell her to get whatever oils she wants from her mother (a massage therapist) and I will make her some soap. Primarily, so I can get some more time/practice with my new lab.