Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Experimentation Start point

IanCaio - 30-1-2013 at 11:52

Hello guys,

I was just wondering what you consider a good start on energetic materials experimenting. I'm still not decided into trying any synthesis (I dont have a good lab setup yet, and I'm still not satisfied with my knowledge in the subject), only maybe some black powder related mixtures, like pyrothecnic stars, colored fires, some "less dangerous" stuff, and since I'm studying them (on the book recommended here "Chemistry of Powder and Explosives" by Tenney Davis) I think it would be a interesting thing to have some experimentation along with the learning.
But apart from that, coming back to the original question, what do you consider a more "safe" energetic materials synthesis ? Not saying that any of them is safe at all, but after studying and planning on the lab, a good start point.

Thanks for your help on recommending those books (I've been learning a lot, and intend to keep on so)

See you

Ral123 - 30-1-2013 at 12:18

You can get an idea of the materials in the book from my channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/apdapd2?feature=mhee
Nothing scientific trough, but testing is on household items so that everyone has an idea of the strength.
Synthesis of picric acid is somewhat safe, compared to NG. About setting it off, you can either use commercial blast cap, or homemade one. Keep in mind that some primaries explode sometimes by themselves with no apparent reason. Specially organic peroxides.

IanCaio - 31-1-2013 at 16:17

Nice channel man! Got really impressed by the Picric acid detonation, really strong. So you think its safer to handle and synthetize Picric acid then Nitroglycerin? Until now I thought Nitroglycerin was a nice begginer synthesis, appart from the risk of getting toxic NO and NO2 fumes..
I can get Phenol, would only have to synthetize fuming Sulfuric acid and from the sulfuric acid I would synthetize the Nitric acid..