Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Hydriodic acid synthesis video (Question)

nb198 - 7-7-2014 at 17:18

I have made a video showing how to make hydriodic acid using the method outlined by Argox in the Erowid Archive.

I live in Canada and I destroyed the HI after making it. I am just wondering what the legality is regarding making a video like this. I have no intentions of making anything illegal and if i didn't destroy it, I would have made Grignard reagents.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Would it be a bad idea to post the video?

TheChemiKid - 7-7-2014 at 17:33

I don't see why this would be a problem, as long as you are not showing or telling how to make illegal chemicals (drugs or chemical weapons). As long as you make this clear, you should be fine.

mr.crow - 7-7-2014 at 18:42

I am not a lawyer (and neither is TheChemiKid) but unfortunately things don't look good. Its on the Class A list along with super dangerous substances like KMnO4

With that out of the way I think its bullshit and love seeing any videos

rumunpl1995 - 8-7-2014 at 04:23

TOR is the answer.... your videos can be deleted but you stay anonymous (also if you want to do that register new account and never ever log in using your real ip adress) (change MAC also). If you log once ( and do everything right) they never ever find out from where video was sent.

On the other hand I have seen tutorials on youtube how to make hmx,rdx,dynamite and so on.....
In first few second a comunitace was showed: "for educational porposes only, dangerous substances were quickly disposed after synthesis" and they were there for like a year on the internet.

I`m also interested in seeing your video ;)

blogfast25 - 8-7-2014 at 04:46

HI is illegal in Canada? What a bunch of twits.

"Genius has its limits but stupidity doesn't." (Einstein)

[Edited on 8-7-2014 by blogfast25]

PHILOU Zrealone - 9-7-2014 at 10:40

Quote: Originally posted by blogfast25