Sciencemadness Discussion Board

r/chemistry Mercilessly Crushes Sciencemadness Member

Texium - 25-2-2016 at 17:29

"I'm a High School Student, Here's a Laboratory I Built in My Basement."

A couple days ago, Zephyr posted a photo gallery of his new lab space (originally posted on SM) on the chemistry subreddit. Almost immediately, he was accused of being a troll and a fake, and there were also many insults hurled at the amateur community in general by supposed professional chemists.

It is true that it would be good for him to rearrange his reagent storage so that it follows the more important chemical storage guidelines (following all of them is virtually impossible for an amateur, as I'm sure most of you would agree). I agree on that point. However, I think that the rest of the the criticism that he received in that reddit thread was completely unwarranted.

So much of it is based purely on speculation and unfamiliarity with the hobby. For example, why do they assume the fume hood doesn't work just because he got a good deal on it? There's no way he'd install a non-working hood and still try to use it. They act like he has no common sense. Also, the accusations that his chemicals are stolen because they are from Sigma are ridiculous. Everyone here knows that you can find all kinds of great deals on nice chemicals like that, whether from eBay, Craigslist, surplus sales or sellers like mario840.

I can personally vouch for Zephyr. I have met him in person and have seen his old lab space. I know he has been working on building his collection of chemicals and equipment for years, and that he had a lot of help from family and friends with building his new lab, installing the fume hood and everything. I've seen pictures throughout the process posted in the Skype group.