Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Tetramine copper perchlorate help?

Pages:  1  

MineMan - 8-8-2016 at 14:16

I made according to LL's video, but during filtration I added water and all of the crystals dissolved and went through the filter, I take it, this molecule is soluble in water?

To recover should I just evaporate the water?

NeonPulse - 8-8-2016 at 16:43

If I remember correctly,Water decomposes this stuff and needs to be removed ASAP just vaccum filter the crystals and dry them with a paper towel. I'm not sure if they are hygroscopic but the mother liquor is so drying the crystals as soon as you can is ideal for the life of your product whose life is limited anyways.

kratomiter - 9-8-2016 at 07:36

I have some experience with TACP: it is very soluble in water, so you must cool down the solution. Even this way, a lot of TACP remains dissolved, so the best way is to evaporate the solution to half volume(~80 ºC). The last time I did it I got an huge amount of TACP, somewhat contaminated with remaining Ammonium Perchlorate (blue color instead of dark violet) but still undergo DDT.
Many people says that water decomposes TACP, but it must be a slow process because I've been able to recover TACP from a heated solution.

BTW, if you see some unsoluble green salt (which I think is copper hydroxide) formed, you can remove it heating the solution, filtering it and the recrystallize your TACP.
It's a very useful primary explosive, my favourite at the moment.

[Edited on 9-8-2016 by kratomiter]

PHILOU Zrealone - 9-8-2016 at 08:14

Yes soluble into water ... that was stupid!

You could evaporate your solution (into the cold or under middle warming) and reintroduce the solid or concentrated solution into your process.

Or if not too diluted...you may try to reduce solubility by adding methanol or ethanol.