Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Mad Scientist of the Year Award #2

Texium (zts16) - 5-12-2016 at 17:27

Now that Magpie has won the 1st Mad Scientist of the Year Award, this poll is open to determine who will win second place. Please vote for the person you think most deserves it, and if you are nominated, do not vote for yourself.

Once again, the reasons for nominations:

arkoma (nominated by crystal grower) for his determination to experiment and provide good documentation of results even when he is not successful, as well as his generosity

Ashot (nominated by crystal grower) for the smooth YouTube videos on his budding channel

ave369 (nominated by zts16) for her resourcefulness and collection of threads on purifying and using OTC reagents with limited resources

blogfast25 (nominated by aga) for being a great teacher of mathematics and theoretical chemistry with threads such as the QM and calculus lessons, and the noob competition

crystal grower (nominated by j_sum1) also for many contributions to the Pretty Pictures thread and other crystal related threads

Dan Vizine (nominated by phlogiston) for his monumental thread on the isolation of elemental thorium

Dmishin (nominated by crystal grower) for sharing pictures of their crystal collection in the Pretty Pictures Thread

Dwarvensilver (nominated by crystal grower) also for sharing pictures of their crystal collection in the Pretty Pictures Thread

Fidelmios (nominated by crystal grower) for his budding YouTube channel

Hegi (nominated by j_sum1) for his many beautiful contributions to the Pretty Pictures thread

j_sum1 (nominated by Fidelmios) for his general helpfulness, especially to beginners

m1tanker78 (nominated by aga) for his contributions to the Raman spectroscopy thread

Mabus (nominated by crystal grower) for being the most prolific contributor to the Sciencemadness Wiki, adding to it nearly every day since it was founded

MrHomeScientist (nominated by j_sum1) for his newly revitalized YouTube channel

tvaettbjoern (nominated by aga) for his contributions to the Raman spectroscopy thread

woelen (nominated by arkoma) for his consistent valuable contributions and wonderful website

zts16 (nominated by j_sum1) for his moderation efforts and regular contributions to discussions despite limited lab access

aga - 6-12-2016 at 13:20

OMG. Neck and neck !


Well, it was a minute ago, now woelen's surged ahead !

[Edited on 6-12-2016 by aga]

Texium (zts16) - 6-12-2016 at 16:17

Looks like this one is going to be very close! (As of right now, 10 Dan Vizine, 11 woelen)

crystal grower - 6-12-2016 at 21:42

Yeah very interesting.

crystal grower - 9-12-2016 at 06:43

I think we have a winner. Do you all agree?

aga - 9-12-2016 at 08:28


Looks more like we have two !

crystal grower - 9-12-2016 at 08:39

Hmmm, yeah. Even if we consider Woelen as the winner, Dan Vizine would most likely be the winner of the third prize.

Fleaker - 9-12-2016 at 11:56

all great choices!

Texium (zts16) - 9-12-2016 at 13:34

So, how about we go ahead and call it, woelen 2nd and Dan Vizine 3rd?

Unless most of the people who voted for woelen would vote for someone other than Dan for 3rd place then he'd surely get it.

violet sin - 9-12-2016 at 14:04

Been voting for Dan "Mr. Thorium" Vizine, all along. My vote won't change so your proposal sounds acceptable here. It is a hard choice in the first place, so many busy and tallented individuals. But that experiment was LONG, productive and right down my alley so to speak.

Edit, spelling

[Edited on 10-12-2016 by violet sin]

aga - 9-12-2016 at 15:17

Sounds crazy to have another vote when clearly Dan & woelen are both highly popular choices.

If we declare both as winners, then can go on to the final vote.

woelen - 10-12-2016 at 14:36

Make it a shared second place! No need to make a clear distinction, we both have done a lot of home chemistry, in very different areas with different types of chemistry and that is exactly what makes sciencemadness such a nice community. Comparing these different things is like comparing apples and oranges.

[Edited on 10-12-16 by woelen]

aga - 10-12-2016 at 14:42

It is Not a second place, just the second award.

Magpie, woelen and Dan Vizine are All winners of our collective admiration, which is what these votes show very clearly.

Who-likes-who-most is largely irrelevant.

It is very gratious of you to accept Dan V as an equal winner in the vote that You won.

This type of Spirit also makes SM the most wonderful community.

[Edited on 10-12-2016 by aga]

aga - 12-12-2016 at 12:11

Whoops ! We're 1 day over 5.

Congratulations to the next two worthy winners :

woelen and Dan Vizine !

(please U2U an address where the awards should be sent)

crystal grower - 12-12-2016 at 13:06

Congratulations to both winners!
Can't wait for the final vote :).

[Edited on 12-12-2016 by crystal grower]

aga - 12-12-2016 at 14:10

Yeah !

The final Vote will make people think a bit more about who they want a trophy sent to, as their personal favourites already have won an award.

Just One more, so it's got to count.

Personally, blogfast25 simply has to win one.

He's taught me so much about chem, and maths, so that'll be my vote.