Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Is the cadmium/lead content in vintage dolls truly dangerous?

Dollgirl - 13-1-2018 at 21:26

Hi, I'm not a scientist or anything but I came across this forum via Googling information on cadmium and other toxins after coming across this alarming piece of information, so I guess I'm hear to ask the opinions of some knowledgeable experts. I've been collecting vintage dolls(mostly Barbie-type fashion dolls from the '60s through '80s) for many years now as a hobby, but was alarmed to find out that some vintage dolls contain very high levels of cadmium and lead, much higher than what's currently regulated as "safe". So my qurstion to those who know their stuff about chemicals is: does this really pose a legit health risk to adult collectors?
http://tamararubin.com/2017/12/francie/

Thanks in advance!

Deathunter88 - 13-1-2018 at 21:46

No, the lead/cadmium content shouldn't pose much of a hazard to a responsible adult. As long as you don't suck on it, eat it, or swallow parts of it the lead and cadmium will not enter your body. Just wash your hands after playing with them and I think you are fine.

j_sum1 - 13-1-2018 at 21:53

Someone who knows more will unlikely be here soon. But the short answer is you probably don't need to worry too much.
There was little lead paint used in the 60s-80s. It was starting to be phased out before that.
Secondly, the compounds in question are fairly stable. They are not volatile and so you aren't in any danger of breathing in anything bad. Nor will they penetrate the skin so you can handle them ok.

Lead/cadmium pigments are not appropriate as toys since they suffer a high level of wear and there is the constant danger of ingestion when kids put them near or in the mouth. But as collectables, neither of these two factors presents a real risk.