Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: How to get lab experience
alchemizt
Harmless

[*] posted on 28-1-2019 at 13:17
How to get lab experience

I got a chemistry BSc a few years ago but didnt use it to get a job since Ive been doing other things. I really want to gain lab experience so wondering if theres a way I can do volunteer work in a lab, as in do unpaid work for the purpose of building up my skills. Are there any labs that take on volunteers like that? Are there other ways to get into a lab and gain hands on experience without getting a full time job?
j_sum1
Administrator

Mood: Organised

[*] posted on 28-1-2019 at 14:09

Where are you located?
I don't know of any arrangements like that, but you never know. There might be some board members who have gotten a foot in the door that way.
In general, I would guess that most labs would be prevented from taking on volunteers due to OHS regulations.

You could always begin your own home lab... It is amazing what is possible with a few OTC reagents and minimal equipment.
WGTR
National Hazard

Mood: Outline

[*] posted on 29-1-2019 at 03:51

It happened organically for me (no pun intended). I’m a non-degreed individual who performs a mix of technical and electrical engineering work, who also has access to several labs with fume hoods. Very few people use these hoods, so I’ve taken over one by default. Over the years I’ve worked after hours to build up my lab skills, and now much of my recent work has been chemistry-related.

You have a degree...in chemistry. Don’t undersell yourself. Even if you were an entry level chemist, you should still get paid for your time.

andy1988
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 29-1-2019 at 04:03

Nice in that you won't be influenced to do anything you consider immoral for the sake of making money.