Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Please help me figure out how to make this solution
gtchemen
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 7-6-2010 at 23:42
Please help me figure out how to make this solution

Hello
Im trying to make a Peracedic Acid (specifically performic acid)

The Original method
Calls for
279g H202 35%
469g Formic acid 88%

But the problem is i only have 27% h2o2 and i can obtain 90% formic acid
So i am assuming i can dry the formic useing mgso4 or something to dry it.
OR maybe take the other 8% water from h2o2 ( which is unlikely) Please dont tell me to freeze it as it doesnt work with my freezer.

Please give me some ideas on how i might go about this to balance the chart

So if i have 27% h2o2 and x% formic acid and adding
x amount for each and adding this much water would balance it out but how can i do this?.. I have limited chemistry knowledge please help me!
watson.fawkes
International Hazard

[*] posted on 8-6-2010 at 08:00

Quote: Originally posted by gtchemen  
Im trying to make a Peracedic Acid (specifically performic acid)
What application do you have for this reagent? Given that you don't have exact ingredients, how well it will perform with substitutes depends on what you want to use it for.
gtchemen
Harmless

[*] posted on 8-6-2010 at 09:00

For epoxidation of an 2 degree carbon of alkene

the alkene calls for 300g (m.w) 162.19

my theory make the formic stronger and use the water off the h2o2 and it will balance out but i just dont know how to go about this.
thanks for your input

anyone able to help me solve this?
does this require knowledge of densities of the reagents?

[Edited on 8-6-2010 by gtchemen]
Nicodem
Super Moderator

[*] posted on 8-6-2010 at 12:09