Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Geiger counter advice please
Lion850
Hazard to Self

Mood: Great

[*] posted on 17-1-2020 at 02:10
Geiger counter advice please

I want to buy a Geiger counter and I am looking at one listed on eBay with the following link:
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Geiger-Counter-Beta-Gamma-X-ray-...

Picture of the listing below. I have no experience with Geiger counters. The reason I want one is to check the radioactivity of my uranyl acetate before I use it and then to check the glassware and so on afterwards. Maybe overkill but just to be sure, and something else to learn about.

If there are members on here knowledgeable about Geiger counter use, can you please comment and tell me if this one will be suitable, or if you perhaps can suggest another model from experience?

Thanks in advance.

IMG_5341.jpg - 371kB
B(a)P
Hazard to Self

[*] posted on 17-1-2020 at 02:38

Uranyl acetate is a much bigger concern from an ingestion/inhalation toxicity exposure scenario. It is also mostly an alpha emitter I think? Does that counter pick up alpha? All in all though I don't think radiation will be you issue in handling this substance. I have not had experience handling the substance myself though.
Lion850
Hazard to Self

[*] posted on 17-1-2020 at 02:50

From what I read so far yes it seems the radiation is so low that it is not a concern, but it is indeed toxic inside the body. Thanks for the heads up on the alpha detection. From the eBay data listed alpha is not mentioned, but it does say it can be used to measure uranium.
Sulaiman
International Hazard

[*] posted on 17-1-2020 at 03:30

I believe that a small uv lamp (or maybe LED) would cause uranyl salts to fluoresce in the visible/detectable/measurable spectral region.
It could be quite sensitive ? ... in the dark

CAUTION : Hobby Chemist, not Professional or even Amateur
(suffering from separation of me and my chemistry stuff)
pantone159
International Hazard