Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Orange-limonene reaction and sulfuric acid, color chemistry
semiconductive
Hazard to Others

Mood: Explorative

[*] posted on 26-6-2020 at 16:09
Orange-limonene reaction and sulfuric acid, color chemistry

I've bought orange oil from the store, "Howard Orange Oil, Wood polish" expecting it to be a cheap source of D-limonene. I'm a beginner at Chemistry, and would like some opinions about my experiment and conclusions.

The Howard bottle says it contains petrolium distillates ... but D-limonene is likely cheaper to get from Oranges, and it does smell like Oranges and not so much lemon.
When I look at the liquid, it has an orange color (like the rhind of an Orange.)

However, when I look up D-limonene, the terpene (alkene) is stated to be "colorless."
http://www.sciencemadness.org/smwiki/index.php/Limonene

So, I assume there is some kind of impurity in Orange oil that gives it the Orange color.
But I'm curious about the reactivity of D-limonene to strong acids/bases etc.

When I was studying low density bi-layers for an experiment with Iron Pyrite (FeS2), I was told that perhaps limonene being an aromatic alkene was reacting with my non-aquatic ionic solvents;.

@clearly_not_atara
https://www.sciencemadness.org/whisper/viewthread.php?tid=15...

So I wanted to see how reactive it was compared to kerosine.
All alkanes in in Kerosine, like Nonane-Decane, are also clear. So it would be hard to tell alkanes added to orange oil apart from D-limonene. The Odor of oranges is there, though, so I'm pretty sure there is D-limonene in Howard's. The same's true with "goo be gone." But that could be a coloring gimmick ...