Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: On Acetylides
Polesch
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-5-2013 at 14:32
On Acetylides

I've been doing chemistry for a few years now as a hobbyist, but never felt drawn to chemicals of the explosive kind. I'm pretty much just scared. But one day when reading a 1940's safety manual on welding gas pipes, they mentioned copper acetylide (C2Cu2) as a potential explosive hazard with acetylene and copper pipes.

I've always been taught that explosions are a rapid expansion of gas, and I mostly associate explosives with larger organic molecules with some strained bonds. But on a quick search about copper acetylide, there seemed to be a debate if the detonation had any gaseous products at all, if so, is it just carbon and copper vapor at high speeds?

Well, it was an intriguing compound, and sources said it was more stable than the silver acetylide, so I went to make a some. And to my experience, it was quite stable, it would only detonate after about 5 seconds over a bunsen flame. This was about 35 mg:

But I still haven't found very much information on this, do any of you know more about these types of compounds? Can you think of any more practical uses? Could it work as a primary explosive, as in a blasting cap? I haven't tried to size these up or to confine the compound, maybe some of you more experienced could try to see what this compound is capable of? It's also very easy to make, and much cheaper than the silver acetylide. Do you know of other interesting acetylides with similar properties?

[Edited on 11-5-2013 by Polesch]
Formatik
National Hazard

Mood: equilibrium

[*] posted on 11-5-2013 at 15:18

Cuprous acetylide tends to degrade from air and moisture, so it is limited for any application. I also doubt its brisance is even equal to silver acetylide. Chloratotrimercuraldehyde and the perchlorate are two known other acetylene primary explosives, which do have known initiating action.
chemcam