Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: size of aluminum
haydz
Harmless
*




Posts: 21
Registered: 1-3-2005
Location: New Zealand!
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 8-3-2005 at 22:57
size of aluminum


what should the minimum size for Aluminum in the Al/Fe203 thermite be?

I have cut up the bottom of a Al can into pieces of about 1-2 mm each :)

al.JPG - 61kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
12AX7
Post Harlot
*****




Posts: 4803
Registered: 8-3-2005
Location: oscillating
Member Is Offline

Mood: informative

[*] posted on 8-3-2005 at 23:12


I've done it with turnings and chunky broken up rust, all depends on how slow you can tolerate. Obviously, too slow and you'll need a really big charge (several pounds) to sustain it.

You'll definitely need something hot and strong to light it, a good stick of magnesium or some finer thermite should do.

Tim
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
haydz
Harmless
*




Posts: 21
Registered: 1-3-2005
Location: New Zealand!
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 8-3-2005 at 23:20


I was thinking of putting little bits of cut up magnesium with it, and using a few strips rather than one... if i make the rust as fine as possible will that help? also how much minimum approx do you reckon i would need to sustain the reaction with al pieces that big.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Joeychemist
National Hazard
****




Posts: 275
Registered: 16-9-2004
Location: Canada
Member Is Offline

Mood: Sedated

[*] posted on 8-3-2005 at 23:31


LMAO!!!:P:P:D:D

You can't use Aluminum like that, you must use atomized, flaked or a very finely powdered Al for use in pyro. Think Aluminum dust. Anyways check out this forum for some useful ways to make Al for pyro.
http://www.apcforum.net/

Thanks for the laugh though.
;)
View user's profile View All Posts By User
haydz
Harmless
*




Posts: 21
Registered: 1-3-2005
Location: New Zealand!
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-3-2005 at 00:12


hahah damn :(

ahh well worth a try! :p and thanks for the link.

:D
View user's profile View All Posts By User
12AX7
Post Harlot
*****




Posts: 4803
Registered: 8-3-2005
Location: oscillating
Member Is Offline

Mood: informative

[*] posted on 11-3-2005 at 05:33


Quote:
Originally posted by Joeychemist
You can't use Aluminum like that, you must use atomized, flaked or a very finely powdered Al for use in pyro.


Well, no. Like I said, I've done it before. Once you get the iron and aluminum oxides melting, it can be any size you want. Getting that started, however, requires a lot more heat.

In general, window screen is about the largest worth bothering with, unless you are interested in the molten metal.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
$0meb0dy
Harmless
*




Posts: 13
Registered: 17-12-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-3-2005 at 06:11


Quote:

Once you get the iron and aluminum oxides melting

You mean aluminium and iron oxides:P.

Al shouln'd have to be very fine, for thermite coarse Al should work, but I don't know about your Al...




View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top