Author: Subject: H2SO4/ HNO3 mix on my hand
Tensai
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

sad.gif posted on 30-4-2015 at 04:06
H2SO4/ HNO3 mix on my hand

Hello,
How are you doing, chemists?

Actually, I got into an accident 4 days ago in Organic Lab while mixing H2SO4 and HNO3, the accident happened when I took out the thermometer and touched it with my two fingers while still having the mixture in it,
The tempreture was about 10-20 celsius
There is a still yellow scar around my finger and I am afraid it won't vanish that easily. I asked my lab instructor, and he told me that it is okay and it will go away soon. But I am still worried-.

Screenshot_2015-04-30-15-05-48.png - 2.8MB
Chemosynthesis
International Hazard

[*] posted on 30-4-2015 at 04:34

The yellow color will fade and I doubt you will have a permanent scar. I've seen way worse end up perfectly fine.
NedsHead
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 30-4-2015 at 05:18

I'm new to chemistry as a hobby and have already stained my hands more times than I care to admit;) WFNA, RFNA and just last week silver nitrate solution.

Don't worry it will fade away soon
annaandherdad
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 30-4-2015 at 08:50

The yellow stain is caused by the nitric acid. As everyone says, don't worry, it will go away.

Of the 3 common mineral acids, the order in which to worry about skin contact, from least to most worry, is HCL -> HNO3 -> H2SO4, and HF is off scale. In any case, if you get some on you, wash it off immediately. And don't under any circumstances get any of these in your eyes.

Any other SF Bay chemists?
DraconicAcid
International Hazard

Mood: Semi-victorious.

[*] posted on 30-4-2015 at 09:44

The yellow stuff will peel off in a few days. If you're the kind of person who enjoys peeling sunburns, you'll have fun with it.

Please remember: "Filtrate" is not a verb.
Write up your lab reports the way your instructor wants them, not the way your ex-instructor wants them.
Loptr
International Hazard

Mood: Grateful