Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: App devs wanted: a SM mobile app
fusso
International Hazard

[*] posted on 14-5-2018 at 14:40
App devs wanted: a SM mobile app

Yes, pretty much everyone owns a smartphone nowadays, and I want a SM app so I can browse the board on my phone using an app instead of mobile browsers.

Also, I hope you can help contribute suggestions about how the app should run, features etc, maybe features that the current site don't have can also contribute to "features to be added to the site"

eg: I want the app to show in-thread post # (both total posts the thread has and post # for individual posts)

CouchHatter
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 15-5-2018 at 11:31

http://www.sciencemadness.org/talk/viewthread.php?tid=80120#...

I will give $100 if that will help the app come about with usable functionality. I was an app developer in a past life but this is beyond me.

Ability to save post attachments to device
Possible library/prepub/wiki integration in tabs
Custom font display size
Different search UI
Smilies
Ability to favorite subforums and posts
Post markup recognition (for RTF and subscripts)
Non-customizable UI / post colors
No post character length (within reason)
Thread update push notifications
For sciencemadness.org to offer to open pages in app (ONLY if installed) like Reddit
Collapsible and toggleable signatures
violet sin
International Hazard

Mood: Good

[*] posted on 15-5-2018 at 15:11

I have been surfing here for over a year on my phone only. I HATE APPS, will not use them and will usually scoff in their general direction. Why download extra crap to use a site at less than 100% efficiency. You never get all the functions, they size stuff funny. My phone is no longer supported for updates (popular in 2013), so newer stuff sometimes won't work. Call me old fashioned, I hate 'em.

That said, it wouldn't inconvenience me in any way if you made one, so have at it. Best of luck.

symboom