Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Zinc complex synthesis
N_I
Harmless

[*] posted on 1-9-2018 at 13:38
Zinc complex synthesis

Hello everyone,

I know this forum since a long time and even if I never created an account until now, I have found tons of useful discussions and suggestions on various topics. I am currently struggling to synthesize a molecule and I thought someone here might now better than I do:

I am a trained organic chemist working in a French university lab and, in the course of an industrial project, I was asked to provide a coordination complex (guess why I need some help… :D) but it seems I can’t get the thing to work.

This compound is the zinc diisocyanate diamine Zn(NCO) 2 (NH3) 2, (cas : 122012-52-6) with only 2 types of preparation described in the literature :
First one (Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research (2013), 52(32), 10977, DOI : 10.1021/ie400745x) start with zinc oxide and urea, heated to 150°C for 45 min (that should give cyanic acid and ammonia, among a lot of other things) but after a couple of attempts, changing temperature and reaction time, XRD shows a mixture of at least an unknown product (not the one I want, if I trust the diffraction diagram published within the paper) and a lot of unreacted ZnO. MS dectects a small peak with the right mass and containing a Zn atom but surrounded with loads of other unidentified things (probably some of them being organic material from the urea decomposition).

Second one (Journal of Molecular Structure (1992), 271(1-2), 27, DOI: 10.1016/0022-2860(92)80207-X) starts from a Zn2+ salt (chloride here, nitrate or perchlorate when other metals are used to generate the intermediate M(NCO)2) to which is added potassium cyanate (2 eq.) and 35% conc. ammonia. Evaporation should give crystals after 2 days but the only thing I got to crystallize by slowly evaporating the water at 40°C, since nothing precipitated on its own, was some potassium chloride :(.