Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Help coding insecticide synth in video game.

EPDGaffney - 23-5-2018 at 07:30

Hello, everyone. This is my first post here. I'm browsing these pages for a while learning about chemistry (I have no prior knowledge) as I work on my mod for Fallout: New Vegas, and I think I need to ask some specific questions. Thank you in advance.

So, the situation is the player needs to navigate a cellar filled with giant aggressive insects. To avoid standard combat, they can fill the cellar with an insecticidal gas based primarily on DDT. This takes place on a deserted farm and there is a machine that was once used to spray this mixture on the crops.

The machine has no insecticide left, but there is a tiny chemistry lab that used to be used to make the mixture. This lab contains the following substances:
Ammonium hydroxide
Bleach (with chlorine)
Drain Cleaner (with sulphuric acid)
Grain Alcohol
Ice
Water
Window Cleaner (intended as a red herring substance, don't know what should be in it)

1. The player is intended to distil Benzene from another item in the game, Flamer Fuel.

2. Next step is to make Chlorobenzene, which I don't know how to do exactly but I gather is feasible with the chlorine gas from the bleach and drain cleaner.

3. Then make Chloral Hydrate by turning the grain alcohol anhydrous, chlorinating it, adding sulphuric acid to it, heating it, and taking the chloral hydrate from the top.

4. I'm a bit lost on the next bit but I think I need to combine the chlorobenzene and chloral hydrate with more sulphuric. I don't know what to do after that.

So, I need help with a few things:
1. Do I have the above right and what steps would satisfy a knowledgeable person playing a computer game?

2. If the player combines any of the materials not intended for this, what happens?

3. Are there any by-products that are part of these operations that I should be aware of?

4. And finally, what flasks do I need?