Printable Version  
 Pages:  1    3
Author: Subject: Society's Perception of Our Chemistry Hobby
TheApplianceOfScience
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 4-3-2008 at 18:11
Society's Perception of Our Chemistry Hobby

Hi, I'm a new member and like to kick-off with a post about society's attitudes, ignorance and perception of our hobby.

From my observations and personal experience, the general public lacking decent knowledge of chemistry are rather ignorant; they could see a conical flask of blue copper sulphate solution and instantly think that it could explode at any moment, or killl everyone with deadly fumes! They view us (amateur chemists) as socially inept geeks, nerds, drug cooks or b*mb makers! I am studying chemistry at Degree level, and when I tell people about this, their response is like: "Can you make a chemical b*mb"?, or "have you blown anything up yet?".
My interest in chemistry errs towards pyrotechnics and rocketry, but I also have an interest in natural product chemistry and organic synthesis.
By the way, just out of curiosity, what are the age ranges of our forum members? Do we have any adults among us, as opposed to kids who simply want to burn pyrotechnic mixtures on the floor?!
chemkid
Hazard to Others

Mood: polarized

[*] posted on 4-3-2008 at 18:51

Not every kid is just obsessed with lighting gasoline in any way possible! Yeah, i have done that sort of stuff (never gasoline though), but i mostly do real chemistry: synthesize things, extractions etc etc.

Chemkid

BromicAcid
International Hazard

Mood: Rock n' Roll

[*] posted on 4-3-2008 at 19:29

There are a few polls laying around that can give you an idea of the demographic around here. Though some of them are hard to find due to the search engine (I recommend searching through google, just add site:sciencemadness.org to the end of your search string to return results strictly from this site.)

What's the average age?
What is your level of eduction?
What sex are you?