Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Hunsdiecker-Borodin-etc. Reaction
LSD25
Hazard to Others

Mood: Psychotic (Who said that? I know you're there...)

[*] posted on 7-4-2008 at 15:18
Hunsdiecker-Borodin-etc. Reaction

I was told it might be an idea to put the information I have on this article in a new topic - so I have done so. This would appear to be a very useful reaction for home chemists, particularly if it turns out that more OTC reagents could be used.

http://www.organic-chemistry.org/namedreactions/hunsdiecker-...

That said, I have no experience with this reaction so I invite comment from those that do.

Bazin, et al, 'Original 1pot MW-Promoted Hunsdiecker-Suzuki Strategy...' (2007) 48 Tet Let 4347:http://tinyurl.com/4cjyj9

Quote:
Abstract—An original strategy combining a Hunsdiecker-type bromodecarboxylation and a Suzuki cross-coupling reaction starting from various cinnamic acids has been developed in one-pot and under microwave heating to give trans-1,2-diarylethenes in few minutes.

Bernini, et al, 'Obtaining 4-VP by decarboxylation of Natural 4-OHCinnamic Acids under MW Irradiation' (2007) 63 Tet 9663: http://tinyurl.com/4l6hlr

Quote: