Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Zinc Gluconate ->Zinc Lil help?
smaerd
International Hazard

Mood: hmm...

[*] posted on 28-1-2010 at 07:04
Zinc Gluconate ->Zinc Lil help?

Okay so zinc gluconate is in most zinc tablets/vitamins.

I know a little about this. I know it's an ionic bond and that it's the zinc salt of gluconic acid. Remember I'm a total chemistry noob so try not to be too harsh.

I want to figure out a way to break this ionic bond and have zinc precipitate. Here's what I am thinking.

Zinc Gluconate(s) + H2O(aq) + Na2CO3(aq) -> Zinc(ppt) + H2O(aq) + Na2CO3(aq) + Gluconic Acid(aq)

The problem with zincs solubility in water is at ph 11 it becomes more soluble and at lower acidic ph's it is also soluble. So you can't basify too much with something such as NaOH, that's why the Sodium Carbonate is used.

Anyone have any input or other ideas? if this is a repeat thread lemme know.
bbartlog
International Hazard

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 28-1-2010 at 07:44

This won't work. Assuming gluconic acid is strong enough, you would get sodium gluconate and zinc carbonate; failing that no reaction would take place.
While zinc is not an alkali metal it's still not so trivial to reduce it chemically. Pretty sure that zinc powder, dust etc. are produced mechanically from the solid. And even if you could get elemental zinc from the gluconate, it is surely not economical.