Printable Version  
Author: Subject: A-Level Chemistry Project
Spud497
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 9-9-2010 at 08:23
A-Level Chemistry Project

Hi guys,

I'm studying chemistry as an A-level and have moved into my second year, we have to produce a project on our chosen subject, it can be anything. I have an interest in forensics and am intending to study it at university.

My idea for the project is to see what chemicals can be used for testing for blood, how they can be obtained in a lab, via synthesis or otherwise, preferably created manually to add to the content of my investigation. Also how these chemicals can then be used to test for blood.

I have done some research already and have found the following link to be quite useful, i'd appreciate any outside help you may be able to lend me in the form of other research or possibly tips on how to carry it out.

Here's the link mentioned above:
http://nzic.org.nz/ChemProcesses/biotech/12A.pdf

I'm intending to use the crystal and catalytic methods.

Thanks
arsphenamine
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 10-9-2010 at 05:50

The catalytic tests often depend upon a primary or secondary amino function and can be fooled accordingly, Luminol in particular-- it doesn't indicate blood so much as available peptides.

A combination of a sensitive catalytic test with a crystalline test would more strongly indicate both protein and iron presence.

Still, someone could set out to fool the test with an organo-iron amine compound; an amino-ferrocene comes to mind quickly.
Spud497
Harmless

[*] posted on 10-9-2010 at 08:52

I'm not trying to fool the test, I intend to carry the test out on pig's blood, so i know it's gunna be blood. My idea is to see what chemicals can be used to test for blood and how easily they can be made. I was wondering if anyone has some further information i could use to develop my idea.
Astatine
Harmless

[*] posted on 10-9-2010 at 10:36
blood detection colour tests and reagent preparation