Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: what sort of joints do I need
mikeyhib
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 4-11-2010 at 21:25
what sort of joints do I need

what sort of joints do I need to connect a reversible coil condenser( 19/26 & 24/29 ) , to a 2000 ml boiling flask with an opening of 48mm I/D.For reflux distillation initially and then to change to normal distillation using the same condenser (collecting flask size not important)
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 5-11-2010 at 04:24

What socket does the boiling flask have?
What are you distilling?
Do you have other jointed glassware available?
mikeyhib
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-11-2010 at 20:02

The 2000 ml boiling flask on closer inspection seems to have a 45 mm straight socket ( I thought I was buying a tapered one
at the time!) and yes i'm a beginner!

I'm distilling alchohol, and I have no other glass joints.

I believe also that I may need to make provision in my system for the addition of of glass thermometers to monitor the process.
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 7-11-2010 at 08:42

I think the straight socket boiling flask may have to be sent back unless you can buy a special adaptor.

Jointed glassware is actually fairly straightforward. For a full setup you need a boiling flask, stillhead, condenser, thermometer adaptor, receiver adaptor, collecting flask and possibly some expansion / reduction adaptors to boot
It's also good to know that B19 is equivalent to 19/26, B24 to 24/29 and so on.

One site that offers fairly good pricing in the UK is http://www.timstar.co.uk , so long as you go for their own brand stuff instead of the quickfit stuff.

You can also get multinecked flasks. This would allow you to connect a thermometer directly to the flask, meaning you would only need one of these
http://www.timstar.co.uk/Chemistry-/Quickfit-Jointed-Glasswa...
not one of these
http://www.timstar.co.uk/Chemistry-/Quickfit-Jointed-Glasswa...