Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Strange reaction with MEK
DougTheMapper
Hazard to Others

Mood: Energetic

[*] posted on 18-12-2010 at 12:29
Strange reaction with MEK

Hey all, I'm new to organic chemistry and I can't find anything regarding the effect concentrated sulfuric acid has on methyl ethyl ketone.

I performed the following experiment yesterday with some interesting results:

I was experimenting to see whether methyl ethyl ketone could be cleaved by concentrated sulfuric acid and the product nitrated to methyl and ethyl nitrates. Having a huge amount of methyl ethyl ketone, I decided it was worth a try.

I started with methyl ethyl ketone added dropwise to conc. sulfuric acid, which seemed to have no effect except the lowered viscosity of the acid. I then added KNO3 to the solution slowly and allowed it to dissolve while keeping the temperature at around 15C. Nothing appeared to happen at all, so I removed it from the water bath which was stabilizing the temperature (The experiment was performed in a test tube.) I began to heat the tube gradually in a water bath at about 60C with agitation.

Sometime into the heating a classic nitration "runaway" occurred, turning the solution brown with nitrogen oxides and evolving the characteristc brown gas.

I repeated the experiment several times and tried crashing the mix into 50mL water both before and after initiating a "runaway" which revealed neither crystals nor an immiscible liquid in any instance.

I'm at a loss for ideas. Perhaps the MEK is cleaving into methanoic and ethanoic acids which are then attacked by the sulfuric, before the creation of the in situ nitric? I have no idea. I'd appreciate any insight into what might be going on!

Victor Grignard is a methylated spirit.
mnick12
Hazard to Others

Mood: devious

[*] posted on 18-12-2010 at 13:14

I don't quite understand what you are asking, why would H2SO4 cleave any part of 2-butanone molecule? What was you target?
UKnowNotWatUDo