Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: N-Methylalanine digressions 2
WildAtHeart
Harmless

[*] posted on 14-1-2011 at 05:43
N-Methylalanine digressions 2

I am new to chemistry. I got a few couple questions. I am trying to make N-methyl-L-alanine. Uncle fester said to use Alanine. (sometimes i get the feeling he hadnt tried everything he wrote in his book) I got my hands on some L-alanine.

IS L-alanine WHAT I NEED?

The instructions i have posted below.

How important is the PH being 7?
Why Am I getting like 20 grams of crystals when uncle fester said it only makes 10 grams?
Can NaOH be used to neutralized the solution instead of baking soda?

1. Add 16 ml phosphoric acid to 200 ml water in a beaker.
2. Than add 9.5 grams of NaOH to form the monobasic sodium phosphate.
3. Now to this mixture add 10 grams alanine. Stir until it dissolves. The solution should be around 30 C.
4. Next add 10 ml 37% Formaldehyde, follow that with 15 grams zinc dust and stir for 45 minutes. Now let the zinc settle, then filter the almost clear water solution leaving the zinc on the bottom of the flask. It should filter clear water white through a couple of coffee tilters.

5. Now tor the important part, add baking soda powder slowly and with stirring until the PH reaches roughly 7. O let the water clear solution sit in the fridge overnight. Great heavy masses of long needle shaped N- methyl alanine will form. Let the mass grow to its greatest extent. Total yield is about 10 grams after the crystals have dried.

[Edited on 14-1-2011 by WildAtHeart]

[Edited on 14-1-2011 by WildAtHeart]
starch
Harmless

[*] posted on 17-1-2011 at 20:36

new to chemistry ?

uncle fester ?

N-methyl-L-alanine ?

hmmmmmmmm not a good first post mate, 1 guess on what ur up to, it wont wash here

[Edited on 18-1-2011 by starch]

[Edited on 18-1-2011 by starch]
questions
Hazard to Others

Mood: curious

[*] posted on 13-4-2011 at 18:32
alanine Vs N-methylalanine