Printable Version  
Author: Subject: 9+ Months Chemical Storage
melvinthedestroyer
Harmless

Mood: 293.15K, 101.325kPa

[*] posted on 6-7-2011 at 13:31
9+ Months Chemical Storage

Hello sciencemadness!

I've been browsing this forum for a while now, and I finally decided to make an account! Great information and community! I did a quick search for long term chemical storage and didn't find any promising threads, so I thought I would request some information...

I am very new to hobby chemistry (although I have been familiar with a good bit chemistry at the university level for some time now) and recently took several chemicals off the hands of a friend of mine who has had them stored away in a closet.

My questions is: are these chemicals still what the containers say they are after being stored for so long? They have been kept at approximately 20 - 28 deg C for 9+ months now. Some chemicals are a year old. Most haven't been opened. I am curious as to if they are still usable, what undesirable reactions may have taken place in this time, and (if anyone happens to know) what tests I could perform to determine if they are still viable.

Here are several of the chemicals:

Formic acid, 90% conc. Stored in HDPE bucket, tightly sealed, never opened.

Glacial acetic acid, 99.85% conc. Stored in HDPE bucket, tightly sealed, never opened. I noticed that the metal right around the cap to this bucket was heavily rusted, and the closet smelled slightly of acetic acid.

Potassium Carbonate, 99%. Stored in a plastic freezer bag, stored in another plastic freezer bag.

DMSO, 99.9%. Stored in original HDPE container, shrink wrapped.

Glycerol, "pure." Stored in original plastic container and tightly wrapped in plastic wrap, never opened. Stored in sawdust.

DCM, "pure." Stored in original plastic container and tightly wrapped in plastic wrap, never opened. Stored in sawdust.

Sulfuric acid, concentrated. Stored in original plastic container and sealed in a plastic bag.