Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Carotene extraction help
bob800
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 14-7-2011 at 18:07
Carotene extraction help

Today I tried to extract carotene from dried carrots, following the procedure from the Book of Projects for the Amateur Scientist (which BTW is on the forum library and is full of fascinating projects!):

Quote:

To extract carotene you grind five grams of dried carrot root to
dust in a mortar and then add 50 milliliters of a mixture of equal
parts of wood alcohol and petroleum ether. Shake the mixture thor-
oughly, add five milliliters of water and pour into a separatory fun-
nel. The carotenes, plus xanthophyll esters, are concentrated in the
petroleum ether layer that forms at the top. Separate this layer and
concentrate it by evaporating some of the fluid, leaving 20 milli-
liters.

I experienced several problems during the extraction (keep in mind I've never done this before). After adding the 5mL of water, I poured the mixture into the sep. funnel as per the procedure. However, it was impossible to avoid decanting only the solution and not the carrot, so my funnel became clogged. Anyway, I decided to pour out the mixture and vacuum filter it, and then put the solution back into the sep funnel. After standing for several minutes, no sign of separation was observed. I tried shaking it and venting, but still no separation occurred after standing.

Is the filtering step always required (it was not stated in the procedure), or was I doing something wrong? I did substitute denatured alcohol (free of additives) for the ethyl alcohol, but I can't see why that would cause a problem (carotene is slightly soluble in both methyl and ethyl alcohol).