Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Haemoglobin extraction help
Falejczyk
Harmless

Mood: Cynical, as always

[*] posted on 9-9-2011 at 10:25
Haemoglobin extraction help

This is my first time posting on this forum, even though I have been viewing it for a while now.

Does anyone here know how I could go about extracting haemoglobin from blood, then how to extract the iron from the haemoglobin? Any help is appreciated!
fledarmus
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 9-9-2011 at 10:34

There is a simple method for extracting hemoglobin here, that was intended as a teaching lab project:

http://pubs.acs.org/doi/pdf/10.1021/ed050p347

Falejczyk
Harmless

[*] posted on 9-9-2011 at 10:39

Thanks! Any ideas for extracting the iron? I was thinking trying maybe conversion to iron(III) Chloride, then an extraction of that from the solution.
Falejczyk
Harmless

[*] posted on 9-9-2011 at 10:41

That is, removing the iron from the oxyhaemoglobin.
Nicodem
Super Moderator
Thread Moved
9-9-2011 at 10:57
fledarmus
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 9-9-2011 at 11:12

I would think the easiest way was just to burn it. Iron oxide should remain in the ash, while the protein would disappear as carbon dioxide and water, with traces of NO2 and SO3.

Or were you trying to keep the hemoglobin and remove the iron?

[Edited on 9-9-2011 by fledarmus]
Falejczyk
Harmless

[*] posted on 9-9-2011 at 23:22

That seems like it would work. From there, a magnet could be used to get the iron oxide out and then reduced to elemental iron. Thanks, all! I'll post results when I finally get around to doing this.
Nicodem
Super Moderator

[*] posted on 10-9-2011 at 01:10

Iron oxides are the only components of ashes obtained by complete burning of haemoglobin. There are no other metals in haemoglobin so there is nothing to separate iron oxides from.