Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Open source replacement for Chemstation
Paddywhacker
National Hazard
****




Posts: 474
Registered: 28-2-2009
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 20-3-2012 at 20:57
Open source replacement for Chemstation


Chemstation is installed on some workstations at my University, but is a pain because of its licensing model. It is used for analysing GC and HPLC data.

Can anybody recommend a suitable open-source replacement that can be installed on all workstations?

Thanks
View user's profile View All Posts By User
gutter_ca
Hazard to Others
***




Posts: 173
Registered: 7-6-2010
Location: California
Member Is Offline

Mood: Bored at work!

[*] posted on 21-3-2012 at 08:05


http://www.openchrom.net/main/content/index.php



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
benzylchloride1
National Hazard
****




Posts: 298
Registered: 16-3-2007
Member Is Offline

Mood: Pushing the envelope of synthetic chemistry in one's basement

[*] posted on 19-5-2012 at 18:39


Speaking of Chemstation, does anyone know of an open source software package or an ancient version of Chemstation that can be obtained cheaply, under $300 for running a HP 5890 GC coupled to a 5970 mass selective detector?



Amateur NMR spectroscopist
View user's profile View All Posts By User
S.C. Wack
bibliomaster
*****




Posts: 1749
Registered: 7-5-2004
Location: Cornworld, Central USA
Member Is Offline

Mood: Enhanced

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 15:06


I think you'd need the A series and old computer for the MS. Old and unpopular base version B.03.02 (disc G2070-60115) was a torrent a few years ago, but we were not informed while there was seeding. AFAIK it's not said that any license codes were included with it. This and the even older B.03.01 can be bought freakishly cheap (if $30 is cheap enough for you) from suppliers because these have obsoletion issues, no spectral libraries, no machine licenses and so on. The module licenses (and the extra softwares not included in the basic version) cost. I haven't seen downloads for any of those obsolete extras. Speaking of Obsolete, for the B.04 upgrade there is some mention of certain previously added licenses no longer being valid if you're using them, so some had to pay even more to upgrade. Of course users have had to upgrade versions for each of their machines anyways, at pharmaceutical industry prices.



"You're going to be all right, kid...Everything's under control." Yossarian, to Snowden
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Loptr
International Hazard
*****




Posts: 1006
Registered: 20-5-2014
Location: USA
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grateful

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 15:24


If the licensing software isn't too complex you could crack it using something like Ollydbg.

Attach to the process and put a breakpoint on UI related Windows APIs that would be used to display a license dialog. Figure out the section of code that displays the license message, and then figure out what memory address in the heap is used to hold the flag that determines if the software is licensed. Modify the value at that address and see if the license requirement goes away. Once you have found this variable, you can write an app to patch it at runtime or continue reverse engineering to break apart the licensing code and have it always set it to true, or whatever it uses internally.

This is the simplest case example, as it could be more involved.

[Edited on 11-3-2015 by Loptr]
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top