Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Hello question about preparing PhMgBr..
masonjarmatt
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

wink.gif posted on 28-9-2012 at 19:54
Hello question about preparing PhMgBr..

Sorry to ask such a basic question but when preparning 1 mole of PhMgBr would someone simply take 157 g of PhBr and 24 g of Mg and mix them in a flask?? Thank you so much, I love this site. :D

I tried a quick search but found nothing.

[Edited on 29-9-2012 by masonjarmatt]
elementcollector1
International Hazard

Mood: Molten

[*] posted on 28-9-2012 at 21:02

What is "Ph"? I'd assume phosphorus, but who knows.
Hmm. PBr5 + Mg -> P + MgBr would be my guess.
I have no good experience with double salts, but does this one even exist?

Elements Collected:52/87
Latest Acquired: Cl
Next in Line: Nd
masonjarmatt
Harmless

[*] posted on 28-9-2012 at 21:18

benzene + magnesium -> PhMgBr
ziqquratu
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 28-9-2012 at 21:19

"Ph" is standard nomenclature for "phenyl". Thus, PhBr is "phenyl bromide" (or, more correctly, bromobenzene), and "PhMgBr" is phenyl magnesium bromide. There's a whole range of abbreviations (which, admittedly, do look like element symbols - hell, some are even identical! For example, "Ac" means, depending on context, "actinium" or "acetyl") used for standard organic groups, and they're worth being familiar with!

Mason, in theory one mole halide plus one mole magnesium gives one mole of Grignard reagent. In practice, however, one usually uses a significant excess of magnesium (from, say, 1.5 eq. through to five or more, depending on factors such as the reactivity of the halide, the propensity for Wurtz coupling, etc).