Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: 4-bromo-(N,N-diethy)aniline formation?
y0ssarian87
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

smile.gif posted on 12-11-2012 at 23:11
4-bromo-(N,N-diethy)aniline formation?

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site. I've been a long time lurker, but I have a question about a potential synthesis.

For the sake of full disclosure, I'm asking for help with a synthesis project for my OChem class. Our assignment is to design and carry out a synthesis of any molecule of our choosing using precursor molecules from any of our past labs.

I thought it would be fun to generate a dye molecule, because the analysis would be fun, colorful, and easy with UV/Vis spectroscopy. This was my thought below:

bromobenzene + HNO3 ---(cat. H2SO4)---> 2-bromonitrobenzene + 4-bromonitrobenzene

Isolate 4-bromonitrobenzene by recrystallization

4-bromonitrobenzene + Na2S2O4 ---(aq. + bicarbonate + heat)---> 4-bromoaniline

Isolate the precipitate
Dissolve insolubles in organic solvent
Acidify the mixture to yield the anilinium salt
Isolate an aqueous phase
Bring up the pH
Isolate the precipitate as the 4-bromoaniline

4-bromoaniline + 2 eq bromoethane ---(organic solvent)---> 4-bromo-(N,N-diethyl)aniline + Br-

This is the step I have the most issues with. I know that alkylation of amines using alkyl halides yields a statistical mixture of amines including the quaternary ammonium salt. But I was wondering if I might have decent luck with this since this is an aryl amine, and even better with the bromine substitution, making my amine much less nucleophilic. I'm trying to get only 4-bromo-(N,N-diethyl)aniline, and I don't know how to separate this from the other amines I would get from alkylation (4-bromoaniline, 4-bromo-N-ethylaniline, and 4-bromo-(N,N,N-triethyl)anilinium bromide).

Any recommendations on how to get this specific molecule using limited reagents (no diethyl oxalate)?