Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Easy Coordination Complexes
DFliyerz
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 10:29
Easy Coordination Complexes

I haven't really touched or looked into anything regarding coordination complexes, but would like to see if I can get in to it. Does anyone know some simple coordination complexes that would be easy to make as an introduction to them?
Metacelsus
International Hazard

Mood: Double, double, toil and trouble

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 10:33

Tetraamminecopper(II) complexes are fairly easy to make.

As below, so above.

My blog: https://denovo.substack.com
Sulaiman
International Hazard

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 11:18

As a beginner I usually start all of my researches in Wikipedia
e.g. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coordination_complex

then I have a look at what others have been doing on YouTube
e.g. https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=metal++ligand+c...

then I do a google search and go to 'serious' sites for more in depth knowledge
e.g. http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/chemistry/5-112-principles-of-che...
and the videos before this one cover the background theories.

then I look for publications etc. for whatever particular aspect interests me.

Very often whilst researching via google I find references to this Science Madness forum!

[Edited on 11-3-2015 by Sulaiman]
DFliyerz
Hazard to Others

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 14:31

I also have an additional question, which probably seems sort of weird, but I can't help but wonder it: do all coordination complexes act like ionic compounds where they can be crystallized and exist outside of solution, or can only certain complexes do this?
DraconicAcid
International Hazard

Mood: Semi-victorious.

[*] posted on 11-3-2015 at 15:27

The stable ones exist outside of solution. Neutral coordination complexes (such as Ni(DMG)2 or Cr(acac)3) often act as molecular compounds.

Please remember: "Filtrate" is not a verb.