Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Red phosphorus for phosphorus pentoxide ?
Sulaiman
International Hazard

[*] posted on 1-9-2015 at 13:22
Red phosphorus for phosphorus pentoxide ?

I want some P4O10/P2O5 to use as a dessicant, I can get 100g for £10.50.
but
Instead I ordered 25g of red P for £9.30 thinking it has more general use.
(not yet arrived so planning only)

P2O5 can be made by burning P in dry air (so says Wikipedia)
theoretically (if my math is correct) 25g of red P could produce 146g P2O5.
(and from there I can make a little phosphoric acid etc.)
I calculate approximately 2 dm3 of O2 required per 1g of red P

Since I have zero experience with P2O5 the main unknown for me is
how rapidly does P2O5 absorb moisture from the air?

Any suggestions for a physical setup?
Magpie
lab constructor

Mood: Chemistry: the subtle science.

[*] posted on 1-9-2015 at 15:02

I would keep the red P and use it to make PCl5 (see my recent post in Prepublication), or other such energetic reagents.

I was using some P2O5 today. It is very useful as a high powered dessicant and that is what I would use it for, certainly not for making phosphoric acid which you should be able to buy cheaply and easily. I would think that making it from P may be as difficult as making AlCl3 from Al.

P2O5 rapidly gums up (hydrates) in the atmosphere due to atmospheric water vapor.

P2O5 is so strong that it will make tar out of acetone by robbing it of H2O.

Your perspective may be different due to being in the UK vs the US. I can't even buy red P, or white P either for that matter.

[Edited on 1-9-2015 by Magpie]

[Edited on 1-9-2015 by Magpie]

The single most important condition for a successful synthesis is good mixing - Nicodem
Sulaiman
International Hazard

[*] posted on 1-9-2015 at 15:35

if I need phosphoric acid I will buy it since it is cheap and available,