Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: problem of Diketoacid synthesis - starting material regeneration
clemi2310
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 9-2-2016 at 07:28
problem of Diketoacid synthesis - starting material regeneration

Hello everyone,

This is the first time I post here, thank you for what you do here. I hope you can help me. I am a french PhD student in 1st year and I already encounter troubles with chemistry !

Basically, I am trying to synthetize diverse diketoacids following the first synthetic scheme attached

The first step is ok I get my ester pure enough. But when it comes to the hydrolysis, I get the diketo acid but the methyl ketone (starting material) is regenerated... so my product isn't pure.

I made another test, is to leave the reaction during 24h, and I got full recovery of methylketone without any acid.
I also try the hydrolysis in acidic conditions (HCl 1M in water + dioxane, reflux), I still obtain the methyl ketone

my reactions conditions for the hydrolysis are in the 2nd attachement, maybe NaOH and MeOH play a role in the reapparition of the methylketone, the hydrogen between the 2 carbonyl is still enolisable so maybe that is why..

The thing is, my compounds are too polar to purify them by silica gel chromatography so i have to get them pure enough, or recrystallized (but depending on substrate it is difficult).

Could you help me to figure it out what is happening, in terms of mechanism maybe ? Do you have any solutions? For example changing the solvant...

Thanks a lot.

Clémence

schemadiketo.png - 13kB SCHEMAhydro.png - 18kB
clearly_not_atara
International Hazard

Mood: Big

[*] posted on 9-2-2016 at 12:14

Your hydrolysis conditions cause a retro-aldol. The easiest solution IMO is to forgo hydrolysis and use a different protecting group such as benzyl or trityl which can be removed by selective catalytic hydrogenation.