Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Author asking for basic chemistry ideas for fiction.
beethelzar
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 17-10-2016 at 05:59
Author asking for basic chemistry ideas for fiction.

*I have no real chemistry background (just an amateur author) so please excuse my limited description.
Can someone suggest how oxygen (O2) in ambient air, could be removed permanently and with little cost. Such as by either attaching it to another molecule, or by splitting it into two atomic oxygen first, then attaching them to another material for storage.

I first thought of splitting O2 electrically, then storing as O3 ozone. But quickly learned ozone has a half-life of 12 hours, so not useful.

So is there any low cost process you can suggest that can use readily available and preferably free materials from nature, to attach to oxygen O2?

Perhaps combining O2 with an element from salt, saltwater, iron oxide, limestone, or anything else that is available most areas.

The desired process is for mass O2 conversion by many people worldwide to do cheaply over a long period. It is for inclusion in a story which must be plausible fiction (so this process must be possible).

Will come back tomorrow to check. Thanks
Metacelsus
International Hazard

Mood: Double, double, toil and trouble

[*] posted on 17-10-2016 at 06:07

Burn things, then store the carbon dioxide in rock formations (similar to some carbon storage schemes).

As below, so above.

My blog: https://denovo.substack.com
AngelEyes
Hazard to Others

Mood: Better than it used to be.

[*] posted on 17-10-2016 at 06:20

Combine it with Hydrogen and store as water?
Water contains 88.8% by weight Oxygen whereas Carbon dioxide is only 84.2% (assuming my maths is correct). Also it's easier to store water than carbon dioxide...