Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Beginner in crystal growth
Alquimia
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 10-10-2017 at 06:10
Beginner in crystal growth

Hi, I'm new to the world of crystal growth.
I want to make more or less regular crystals, with cubic, tetrahedral, rhombohedral, rhombidodecahedric and octahedral forms.

I would like to know which materials are the easiest to crystallize (the fastest in terms of growth and easier to obtain locally or make), and in which liquids (again, the easiest to obtain locally or made from household materials).

So I plan to make cubic crystals of salt and maybe copper sulfate as well.
I would like to manufacture octahedral crystals similar to those of chromium aluminate or chromium sulfate, however with a material easier to obtain commercially (say, in the "store next to the house") or with some material that I can synthesize at home.

What materials do you recommend?

[Edited on 10-10-2017 by Alquimia]

[Edited on 10-10-2017 by Alquimia]
NEMO-Chemistry
International Hazard

[*] posted on 10-10-2017 at 06:20

This might help you
https://www.thoughtco.com/how-to-grow-great-crystals-602157

You mention salt so i assume Sodium Chloride, this is obviously a good start point, cheap and easy. Copper sulphate crystals are kind of mandatory for any crystal grower :D. Alum would also be pretty close to mandatory
NEMO-Chemistry
International Hazard

[*] posted on 10-10-2017 at 06:21

*I forgot to mention sugar! (Sucrose) again cheap and easy
Alquimia
Harmless

[*] posted on 10-10-2017 at 06:53

Fast question:
Can sodium aluminate replace to classical alum used in crystal growth? Will it have a similar crystal structure or shape?

This is the only substance (similar to alum) that I can obtain/manufacture at home.
DraconicAcid
International Hazard

Mood: Semi-victorious.

[*] posted on 10-10-2017 at 07:00