Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Glassware in Texas - Register or Not?
Kilartheli
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 16-9-2007 at 18:11
Glassware in Texas - Register or Not?

Hello all!

I would like to acquire a fairly large/advanced set of glassware (for organic chemistry) from a supplier on ebay. I'll probably have around 50-75 pieces when it's all said and done with. With that being said I can state my issue, and questions.

First, I know Texas has a glassware registration law, and I find this to be absolutely insane and utterly stupid beyond all reason!

1. Should I register my glassware?

2. What happens if I don't register my glassware, and I get a visit from the local gestapo? Will they confiscate it and charge me with some unheard of crime?

3. I'm a student of all science, and I have no intention of doing anything illegal with my glassware. With this being said, should I still worry if I don't register my glassware?

4. I read in a post after I searched the forum that Texas has it's own set of "LIST 1" chemicals. I searched google, but I couldn't find anything. Can somebody provide me with a link to said list, or perhaps state them here?

5. I plan on practicing organic synthesis and so sooner or later, and I will have to acquire many reagents that may raise flags. I'll be staying away from all the DEA list 1 chemicals, but will my actions (buying glassware, and chemicals for org syn) still raise red flags?

I know I may come off as sounding paranoid, but Texas is one of the worst places around for practicing chemistry, especially organic chemistry. Of course, the more meth labs that are put out of commission is always good, but at the same time they hurt scientists with crazy laws and restrictions.

Either way, I do not want to hear this answer "move out of Texas" because at the moment this is absolutely impossible.