Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Sodium Chromate from stainless stell 18/10

Pages:  1  

Salmo - 26-9-2012 at 09:32

Hello to all, i know that there are other threads about this topic i studied them very well, but they are not exhaustive.
I'm trying to produce sodium chromate from stainless steel 18/10 with only OTC products.
I started dissolving 2 small ss spoons (28.8g) in 33% HCl (500ml?), it took a lot of time and it produced an horrible smell (i hate HCl), anyway they completely dissolved and after that i evaporated the dark green solution to a green, almost dry, mass.
What i want to do now is to precipitate,with naoh, iron/chromium/nickel as hydroxides, wash them with water to get rid of all the NaCl, and then react the solution, until fizzing stops, with some hydrogen peroxide (35%) and NaOH (again),to form Fe(OH)3 and sodium chromate , after that i want to filter the solution to obtain a yellow liquid that should be sodium chromate plus some sodium hydroxide. So i would purificate my sodium chromate by crystallization.
Am I correct ?Is this possible??would I really obtain Cr(OH)3 first or maybe something like sodium chromite that would be lost with filtration?
Please help me with this procedure, I promise that I will go on taking photos and posting them for every step that I will do.

20120925_153724 - Copia.jpg - 118kB

20120926_171424 - Copia.jpg - 121kB

elementcollector1 - 26-9-2012 at 12:22

If the NaOH is strong enough, H2O2 isn't needed - the chromium will redissolve on its own to yield a lemon yellow solution of sodium chromate. Boil this down (being careful of the fumes), and you have your NaCrO4, which can be purified with recrystallization if necessary.
What do you plan to use your chromate for?

plante1999 - 26-9-2012 at 13:00