Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Pipette bulb filler
stevevb
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 10-8-2010 at 16:55
Pipette bulb filler

I am new to the use of a bulb filler and I am having some difficulty with control of the pipette. Filling is no problem but some liquid drips out at all times even though I am not engaging the release valve.
I have used pipette pumps before and did not experience this behavior. I believe that my technique is okay ( I compared with MIT lab tech. videos)
Is the bulb defective?
Advice appreciated.

Thanks
entropy51
Gone, but not forgotten

Mood: Fissile

[*] posted on 10-8-2010 at 17:35

Some of the bulb fillers are just not easy to use. Are you using the type with the valves that you squeeze to open?

I prefer the pistol-grip electric jobs such as the PipetBoy, which are more reliable but a bit pricey. They have a silicone seal to the pipet which is more reliable than the old rubber bulbs.

Is the bulb new and flexible or old and cracked?

Does the pipet fit tightly in the bulb?

Has a previous user let junk get into the valves on the bulb or could there be liquid in the valve causing a leak? If so, washing it out and then drying with a little ethanol and some air flow might help.
Magpie
lab constructor

Mood: Chemistry: the subtle science.

[*] posted on 10-8-2010 at 17:39

I bought a new silicone rubber pipette filler. It works like a dream. I'm just telling you this as a point of reference.
stevevb
Harmless

[*] posted on 10-8-2010 at 17:42

Thanks for the fast reply Entropy.
It is a 3 valve (squeeze )
The bulb is supposedly new ( although the plastic package looked to be re-stapled shut). Also does not appear to be cracked but sitting out all day in 40C weather may have damaged it.
I will try washing and drying to see if that helps.
peach
Bon Vivant

[*] posted on 11-8-2010 at 23:03