Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Heating a round bottom flask
AndrewOfWallachia
Harmless

Mood: YAHAHHA THE YPERITE BLISTERS!

[*] posted on 6-12-2023 at 13:13
Heating a round bottom flask

So my distillation glassware finally arrived today, I was really excited, I set it up for a simple distillation (my first ever one so I tried just distilling water), however because I only have round bottom flasks for distilling I used a waterbath under the 180w hotplate of my newly acquired magnetic stirrer which according to the instructions can reach 300C, however I couldn't get the water in the flask to boil because the waterbath was also boiling at 100C and it would evaporate instead really transferring enough heat to the water in the flask, yes, in retrospect, this was REALLY obvious, and I should have thought of that before, but as a complete newbie to distillation I wanted to ask the following:
1. Could I place the Round Bottom Flask directly onto the hot plate? (I have severe doubts about this since there will only be a really small contact point between the flask and the hot plate, also I am afraid I might run the risk of cracking the glass)
2.Would it work if wrapped the bottom of the flask in thermally conductive material (Tin Foil) and then placed it directly onto the plate? (I have about the same doubts about this working, minus the glass cracking since the heating will be much more spread out)
3.If there's is no other method, I'll use an oilbath. Any tips, tricks, or important things I should know before using oil baths?
Thanks in advance, brothers!
Texium
Administrator

Member Is Online

Mood: PhD candidate!

[*] posted on 6-12-2023 at 13:31

An oil bath is the most effective method. Mineral oil is cheap and readily available. It heats up fairly fast, and it’s an effective medium for transferring heat to a flask up to about 200 °C. The only downside is it’s messy.