Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: The production of free glucosamine from glucosamine HCl
weiming1998
National Hazard

Mood: Amphoteric

[*] posted on 9-2-2012 at 05:39
The production of free glucosamine from glucosamine HCl

I recently spotted some glucosamine HCl tablets that my grandfather takes every day, so I decided to utilize some of that. The ingredient list said that it was pure glucosamine HCl.

2 Tablets were crushed to a powder. At the same time, some saturated sodium hydroxide solution is prepared. They were combined at room temperature. After a day, the solution now looks oily, with the chunks of tablets going soft. Did I do something wrong? I am relatively new to working with organic chemicals, so I might have broken a rule that I don't know about. Also, is free glucosamine soluble in water?
Nicodem
Super Moderator
Thread Moved
9-2-2012 at 14:06
Nicodem
Super Moderator

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 9-2-2012 at 14:24

Quote: Originally posted by weiming1998  
The ingredient list said that it was pure glucosamine HCl.

That might just as well mean that the glucosamine hydrochloride is pure, but it does not necessarily mean that there are no binders and other excipients in the tablets. Have you weighted the tablets to check the amount of additional material?
Quote:
After a day, the solution now looks oily, with the chunks of tablets going soft.

So you are saying the tablets did not entirely dissolve in water? Does not sound like pure glucosamine hydrochloride to me.
weiming1998
National Hazard

[*] posted on 10-2-2012 at 01:14

No, on the ingredient list it said: Each tablet contains 1500mg glucosamine HCl. The tablet looks about that weight, though I don't have an accurate scale.