Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: reaction mechanism-dumbshit question maybe
chemrox
International Hazard

Mood: LaGrangian

[*] posted on 23-7-2007 at 12:44
reaction mechanism-dumbshit question maybe

A compound of the type R-S-CH2-CH2-X is hydrolized in water very rapidly and a cyclic sulfonium intermediate has been proposed as the rate determining step. The writeup (this is from a textbook) indicated formation of one product: RSCH2CH2OH (+HCl). Unfortunatley I can't draw this but its a simple diagram with the two methyls and sulfur atom making a triangle; the sulfur carrying the positive charge. If the only product is the straight RS-ethanol, it seems that one of the methyls was attacked by water preferentially. Yet the intermediate is symmetrical so why not 50% iso-product? I feel like I might be missing something really obvious but since I can't see it, I'm sticking my neck out (and maybe my foot in.) I'm studying up on reactions and mechanisms. It's been a long time ...

Thanks,
CRX

PS added:

The Text is: Miller, Bernard, 1998, Advanced Organic Chemistry, Reactions and Mechanisms, Prentice Hall. The reaction is on page 177.

[Edited on 23-7-2007 by chemrox]
not_important
International Hazard

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 23-7-2007 at 14:50

Do you mean like this :

http://www.cem.msu.edu/~reusch/VirtualText/addene2.htm

the nucleophile is breaking the C-S bond as it attaches to the C, so that carbon must become 'normal' or beta to the sulfur, right?
chemrox
International Hazard

[*] posted on 23-7-2007 at 17:04

Yes and no. In the example of a sulfur mustard the "R" group is attached to the sulfur atom and the two methyls forming the bse of the cyclic sulfonuim ion are completely equivalent.
I tried attaching the page; we'll see how it worked.

sulfonium-shrunk.jpg - 59kB
guy
National Hazard

Mood: Catalytic!

[*] posted on 23-7-2007 at 19:57